|The population of Brierley with Grimethorpe at this time in the middle of the nineteenth century, was only 386 people and there was as yet only one church in the village-the
Wesleyan Methodist Church already mentioned. In 1852, the Primitive Methodists in Brierley bought from Mr. 0. Wintei-bottom of Staveley, Worksop, land in Cliff Close on which to build their church. This building stood until the last decade near the new
houses on Cliff Lane.
In 1841 George Jarret Horsefall was recorded as living at Brier- ley Manor House with lands at Gospel Thorn, Manor Leys, Tom Bank, Park Gate, Dymond Close, and Long Close.
The Manor of Brierley had meanwhile passed to George Savile- Foliambe who built Brierley Church in 1869, just before he died. The Anglican Church is the church from which Church Street gets its name. The building is Early English in style and has deal pews. On the right of the altar are two stained glass windows, dedicated to the Savile-Foijambes. In 1871, the church school was built on land adjoining the church. At this time it would consist of only one class-room.
The family now living at Brierley Manor House, were called Howard. Frederick J. Howard had one son, Cooper Howard, and two daughters, one of whom, Louisa Blanche Howard, married Cecil George Savile-Foijambe, the younger son of the Lord of the Manor. Cecil and Louisa set up home at Cockglode, Edwinstowe. Their marriage was short-lived as Louisa died in 1871, just after the birth of her second son. Her death is commemorated in a brass plaque in Brierley Church between the two Savile-Foljambe windows men- tioned earlier. It is decorated with the coat of arms of the Neviles, Harryngtons, Saviles and Foijambes.
The Manor House had now reached the final stage of its development, with the addition of a Late Georgian South wing. The older part of the building still has many of its mediaeval characateristics; its stone spiral staircase links the three storeys which are entered through stone cambered doorways.
Another early family was the Dymond family as can be seen from the Manor records and the rental lists. Joseph Dymond was born on 5th December, 1746. He was an astronomer and mathematician. He accompanied the Prince of Wales on a trip to Hudson Bay in 1768 and died at Blyth on 10th December, 1796. Thomas Dymond was born in 1833 and lived to be seventy-seven years old. He was the manager of the Barnsley Main Colliery Company. He was married twice and his first wife, Elizabeth, died in 1866, at the age of only twenty-eight. His second wife, named Anne, outlived him; dying in 1923. Thomas Dymond bought Burntwood Hall about 1868, and it then stayed with the Dymond family for almost a century. Burnt- wood has always been part of Great Houghton but Thomas, being a Brierley man, had close connections with the village.
He was church warden for Felkirk in 1876 and another member of the Dymond family, John Dymond, gave three bells to Felkirk Church when the tower was restored in 1876.
The Hoyland family, as mentioned earlier, lived at Grimethorpe Manor House, but some time before 1720, John Hoyland became tenant of Ferry Moor Farm. The Shirtliffe family followed the Hoylands at Ferry Moor; Joseph Shirtliffe died there on 23rd September, 1761, aged forty-four. This farm then became the property of the Right Honourable Earl of Mexborough and there is, in Leeds public library, a plan of his estate at Ferry Moor as it was in 1778. The Hoyland Family then moved to Lindley House which was rebuilt on the site of William Cawthorne's house in 1730. The major part of the building is Georgian and the south-east doorway has a pediment supported by Doric columns. In the nineteenth century a Gothic Revival north west front was added.
In 1840 Robert Hoyland was living at Lindley House w:iich was then called Brierley Hall, while John Hoyland was living at a farm on the site of the present Brierley Hall. His son the Rev. John Hoyland, vicar of Felkirk, bought a considerable amount of land on Church Street, then known as Town Street. Some of this land he used to build his new Brierley Hall which we know today, and some he gave to the church as the sites for Brierley Church and Church School. One family displaced by this exchange of lands was the family of John Dymond, whose farm had stood for centuries on what are now the grounds of Brierley Hall. It is believed that the Brierley branch of the Dymond family then moved to Elms Farm Common Road and that they built the row of cottages opposite, this farm for their farm labourers.
The Rev. John Hoyland retired at Brierley in 1874 after being vicar of Felkirk for fourteen years. Lindley House became the home of the Rev. Godfrey Pigott Cordeaux, M.A., of Worcester College, Oxford, curate of Brierley Church. The corner on which Lindley House now stands is known as Cordeaux Corner.
The population of Brierley was now almost five hundred and the chart shows the trades in the village in 1877.
William Hanson's smithy stood at the end of Church Street, opposite the Three Horse Shoes Inn, where there is now a level piece of land cut into the retaining wall of the higher field. The Farriers Arms Inn was in the cottage at the other end of Church Street, opposite Lindley House. This cottage is built in the "Long House" style, with the living area and barn under the same long roof. There are several of these cottages in the village, each with its gable end built in line with the road, giving the cottages the appearance of standing in their own short lanes. The better known farms were occupied as follows:
|Mr. Herbert Hawson at Brierley Manor House, John Horn at Ringstone Hill Farm, Mr. James Dymond at Elms Farm, Mr. Thomas Miller at Fold Head Farm, Mr. Edward B. Crossley, at
Grimethorpe Manor House, and Mr. George Horn at Grimethorpe Hall.
At this time there were at least three wells in use in Brierley village; these were: a draw well on Church Street opposite Brierley Hall, the cobblers well close to the Farriers Arms and Royd Well near Elms Farm, Common Road; whilst at Grimethorpe there was a water pump and well near the Green.
Brierley was now a large village or township with some ten to twelve farms, several market gardens and many tradesmen including saddlers, blacksmiths, shoemakers and tailors; whilst at Grimethorps there was the Hall, Bridge Farm, Grimethorpe Cottage by the corn mill, Fold Head Farm and Manor House which stood where King Street now is. Up to now Grimethorpe had been the sleeping hamlet of Brierley but in the latter part of the century the point of change for Brierley and Grimethorpe was to come.
Brierley Traders 1877:
Blacksmiths---William Watson, William Hansen
Tailors & Drapers---Squire Hattersley, Charles Tasker, Samuel Dearden
Three Horse Shoes---William Thackery
Farriers Arms---William Watson
Market Gardeners---Henry Kenyon, Charles Edward Kenyon, George Kenyon
Post Office---Joseph Wilson
Shoe Makers---John Broomhead, George Fox, John Corbridge, Richard Sunderland
Stone Mason---Thomas Rogerson
The Population of Brierley with Grimethorpe:
|The Farriers Arms Inn now a cottage|
|First of all on the 28th of May, 1879, a decision was taken by the Hull, Barnsley and West Riding Railway and Dock Company to build the Hull and Barnsley Railway which passes
Brierley on the north-west side. The line was opened on the 20th of July, 1885. Its six hundred and eighty-five yards long tunnel was cut to take the railway through Brierley's high ridge. At its peak the railway could run a passenger train from Hull to
Cudworth in seventy-seven minutes. Whereas the North Midland Railway had been the first large line planned through South Yorkshire, this Hull and Barnsley line was the last, other lines only being in-fillings on the established grid. The Dearne Valley
Railway was one such line. Built in 1912, this linked the Lancashire and Yorkshire Railway with Doncaster and had a Halt at Grimethorpe.
In 1894 the Hemsworth Infectious Diseases Hospital was built near Brierley Common at a cost of nine thousand, seven hundred pounds. This is now known as Burntwood Hospital.